OLD BARTONVILLE ASYLUM 1903 |

|
Construction began in 1885, and resulted in a large, foreboding castle –like
building. Unfortunately, or fortunately, this original building was later torn down in 1897, having never been used
because of structural flaws. It appears that this original building had been built on top of an abandoned coal mine
and suffered much when the shafts began decaying and collapsing.
The hospital was then re-built and opened to the public in 1902. Gone was
the foreboding castle and in its place was a more modern structure. In addition to the main building there were at least 33
cottages used for the housing of patients. Also there were no bar on the windows or restraints. This type of treatment
for mental patients was practically unheard of that time.
In addition to the progressive treatment of patients, the hospital instituted on site cemeteries
for patients who were unclaimed at the time of their death. In the end there were four cemeteries located behind the
main building. It was in the oldest cemetery that the first haunting occurred, documented by the Chief of care
himself, Dr. Zeller.
Dr Zeller created a burial corps, composed of staff members and a few patients.
One of those patients, simply named Bookbinder, would mourn for the deceased, even if he didn’t know them. He
would go to an old Elm tree, that had been in the midst of the graveyard for many years, and mourns the passing of the fellow
patient, sobbing loudly.
Time passed and Bookbinder eventually did too. Because he was so well liked
by the staff and his fellow patients a large funeral was held. With close to four hundred witnesses in attendance, as
they lowered the coffin into the open grave, a low moaning was heard. Many turned in the direction of the old Elm tree;
there stood Bookbinder, mourning as he had also done. Astonished, Dr.Zeller, immediately had the coffin opened in front
of those who had not run in fear. Inside, of course was the corpse of Bookbinder. Those who were still watching
the tree observed as the apparition disappeared. Shortly thereafter, the old Elm tree began to die. Eventually
it was decided to remove the tree, but as the axe was swung a low moan was heard. It was then decided to burn the remains
of the tree, but once again Bookbinder had his say. For as soon as the flames were set, the crying began. The flames
were quickly extinguished. The old dead elm still stands in this graveyard. In 1972 the asylum closed
its doors for good.
Investigation
June 11 & 12, 2005
10:30pm - 1:00am
Equipment:
TriField emf meter, Trifield Natural em meter, noncontact infrared digital
thermometer, Nikon digital camera, 2 digital voice recorders, 2 mini Dv video cameras, Hi8 video camera. All video
cameras equipped with night shot.
Investigators:
Jim, Holly, Trevor
Baseline readings:
emf: 0 - 2.5 mg
temp: 65°
|
After reading about the Bartonville Asylum in a book by Troy Taylor, hearing of
a video of a full blown apparition and unexplained noises, we decided to investigate it ourselves.
Upon arriving in Bartonville, we interviewed some of the locals, to get their
perspective on the asylum. When we actually arrived at the location, we surveyed the outside of the buildings,
and took baseline readings. Several attempts were made to collect photographic and evp evidence, to no avail.
After gaining entrance to the building, we went to the basement to inspect
the location of the tunnels, which were sealed off. We then took baseline readings and attempted to record evp's.
Numerous photos were taken and video was shot as we moved throughout the building. Unfortunately, we were unable
to collect any audio or visual evidence during the course of the investigation. We did acquire some interesting
photos, but without corresponding evidence and the high levels of dust in the air. We concluded that the photos were
more than likely not paranormal.
Bartonville Asylum |

|
DUST ORBS IN PICTURE |
Trevor at Bartonville Asylum |

|
TUNNEL ENTRANCE |

|
2ND FLOOR OF ASYLUM |

|
|
 |
|
 |
|
 |
|
|